Maybe…Eventually

In a darkened, mostly empty room save the white Christmas lights strung over the windows, I sit with fingers poised on the laptop and wait for some thoughtful, quippy line to keep a reader…well reading…this post for reasons other than grading purposes. Only all I can hear is the low, deep voice of James Earl Jones warning, “This is not your medium.”

I don’t even know why I hear it.

I only know that, for now, it’s important because it’s the first thing I hear when I think about my video coupled with the question, “What makes a good story?” If Alexander defines story as, “For a given audience, a story is a sequence of content, anchored on a problem, which engages that audience with emotion and meaning” (13), then I must apologize up front.

This is not it.

In my own, self-deprecating defense, I rarely share the first draft of anything because history has demonstrated that my first drafts are not ready for that yet. I’m still learning the tools of digital storytelling. I’m still listening so I can hear where the story lies. I’m still discovering the digital pieces that best convey meaning for what I am trying to communicate. The video that I shaped is not ready to be pulled apart and twisted into what other people think it should be.

However, if I am to break my video apart, piece by piece of Alexander’s definition, I can tell you where the faults lie:

A given audience? Check.

A sequence of content? Check.

Anchored on a problem? No. There is a problem with the problem.

Engages the audience with emotion and meaning? Ehhh? Maybe. But only if you are my mother.

This is Not Your Medium